Home » Uncategorized » Reality: Ideas Come Faster Than Production

Reality: Ideas Come Faster Than Production

For all the ideas I have and the want to work on these myriad projects I have, it always seems that I’m just never able to get as many things accomplished as I’d like to. I see all of these gorgeous patterns in books and online (I recently obtained a copy of Austentatious Crochet by Melissa Horozewski as a birthday gift) and want to make them. But then, I have all of these original ideas I want to produce – and the energy and general impact I feel when I am around my brilliant artists friends makes me feel as though my time would be better spent creating original masterpieces, and this sometimes makes me feel guilty for constructing anything, gorgeous as it is, that follows a pattern.

The truth is, I can imagine all of these wonderful ideas much faster than I can actually create them. This is why I have started using an Idea Book or Craft Journal. A friend of mine gave me this mostly blank sketch pad that she wasn’t using. After it sat on my shelf for awhile, I finally pulled it out one evening to try to sort out some thoughts that had been swirling through my head. It is worth noting that while art is indeed very therapeutic and can be a way to work through your problems and express yourself, I have found that textile arts just don’t lend themselves as easily to the rush of passion or the chaos of plunging into inner turmoil/ depression… and I can’t paint or draw for beans. The Idea Book is nice because, like a journal, it allows me to work through any issues I may be having in life.. but using it as a medium for artistic design, I am also able to sketch, doodle, play with color schemes and tack swatches of fabric or yarn into the book as well.

As well as not letting me forget ideas, the Idea Book also allows me to process emotions...

The possibilities are really endless. In the current digital world, it’s a nice reprieve to shut everything down and just let the pen flow how it wants to.

Eventually, I will get around to making all of these things that I want to, and perhaps, these ideas will evolve into something better by the time I get around to them. Something I have had to make myself accept: There is no shame in working at your own pace. Just because I see this friend or some other person seeming to crank out dozens of items in a week, does not mean that I have to. We all have different demands on our lives – work, relationships, other hobbies, etc. Creating art is an individual experience and should never become more of a burden than a joy.

One thought on “Reality: Ideas Come Faster Than Production

  1. Pingback: From Concept to Art – The Beginning of a Journey | A'Cloth the World

Leave a Reply

