Home » How-To » Prepping for Embroidery

Prepping for Embroidery

Continuing from my post earlier in the week, I set out to start embroidering the purse front before continuing on with the handles and lining.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided upon this image of Buddha because it is beautiful. Also, I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries on Buddhism over the last couple of months and so it’s been on my mind. Here are a couple of videos from YouTube, for those of you who might be interested. Feel free to skip over them if you’re not 🙂 This first is only about 2-3 minutes and is just a basic introduction to what Buddhism is.

This next one is the first of a two-part look at the relationship between Buddhism and science. This one is actually pretty cool and gets into quantum physics.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATo get the image onto the purse, it is best to trace the image with a heat transfer marker or pen and then iron on the design. I have both a Sulky iron-on transfer pen (which is my preferred implement) and a basic heat transfer pencil. I discovered my Sulky pen was dry so I have to use the pencil.

Maybe because I’m tired, maybe because I just wasn’t thinking, I thought neither about the printer ink nor to use an OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAironing cloth. This is what happens when you don’t pay attention to what you’re doing, folks. I’m really hoping that the ink will come out. If not, I’ll have to decoratively hide it with some extra dazzle. Also, as you can see, the heat transfer pencil doesn’t show up nearly as well as I’d like (the Sulky pens show up so much better but don’t last very long at all).

 

 

One thought on “Prepping for Embroidery

  1. Pingback: Presto Change-o! Pants Become a Purse: Part 2 « A'Cloth the World

Leave a Reply

