Home » Uncategorized » Sewing Up Some Capris

Sewing Up Some Capris

Nothing elaborate going on right now, just decided I’d like a couple pair of cargo capris. I had a couple of large sections of black and red cotton bedsheets left over from the rag rug that I thought might work well for fabric. I also had this McCall’s pattern lying around. I had the day off and nothing else going on, so, why not get my sew on?

GE

Any time I use a pattern for the first time, I use some cheap-o interfacing – I think I picked this stuff up at a yard sale some years back – and trace the pieces in the sizes I need. I like to keep the original pattern intact so that other sizes can be made later if needed. I also label each piece in detail so I know what it is later.

GE

Tracing, labeling and cutting is always the bigger pain and more time consuming that the sewing (at least, it seems that way).

GESo far, I’ve sewn the front,  pocket, and side front  pieces together, and I’ve gotten the 2 back pockets basted and ready to be attached to the butt of the back pieces.

Front view on right, Inside view on the left.

Front view on left, Inside view on the right.

GE

Front view on the left, Inside view on the right.

Check for part 2 tomorrow to see my progress.

3 thoughts on “Sewing Up Some Capris

  1. Pingback: Power to the Pockets! | A'Cloth the World

  2. Hi, I always enjoy reading your blog. You are always doing such interesting things, and you inspire me to think in more creative ways. Good luck with your trousers — they are going to be really cute! Best wishes, Dianne B. in England 🙂

    • Aww, that’s sweet. 🙂 I’m glad I’m inspiring someone. That makes writing these blogs worthwhile. Thank you so much for commenting and letting me know!

Leave a Reply

