Home » How-To » Dolly Got Back: Making Pants for Lammily

Dolly Got Back: Making Pants for Lammily

GE

One of the wonderful things about the Lammily doll is that she has realistic proportions. As a result, Lammily actually has a booty. This is both a blessing and a curse. Trying to form pants to fit a larger derriere is hard enough with people –The Struggle is Real -but trying to form pants to Lammily’s rear is downright frustrating. Unlike a fleshy behind, her hard plastic butt has no give – no muffin tops for this girlie. Even the shorts she came with can’t handle the pressure when she sits.
Seriously, they look so nice until she sits.

GE GE GE GE
So, trying to figure out the right way to make this doll a pair of jeans that will look just as good when she’s sitting as when she’s standing has been a daunting task with multiple fails.

The first thing I did was to try to draft a pattern the way The Fashion Doll Stylist demonstrated with her dolls.  This was the pattern I derived from that exercise:  I suppose they could work with some adjustments. I’m sure I’ll use this pattern for dress pants.

GE GE GE

I tried just playing around with trying to form the jeans to her seated. This mostly resulted in ridiculous sketches and a lot of chopped up fabric as I tried to figure out what I was even trying to do.

GE GE GE GE GE

I then decided to try to approach her jeans just the way I would pants for a person with more seat cushion. I turned to various sewing books on my shelf that weren’t much help. Then I found this tutorial – Full Butt Alteration for Jeans. So, I set to work again.

Now, if you follow the A’Cloth the World Facebook page or are a member of my more recent pet project, the group Handmade Lammily Fashions (also on Facebook), then you’ve already seen some of these photos and have read a bunch of my real-time frustrations.

GE GE GE GE

I don’t even want to think about how many hours I put into this, but I managed to make a pair of jeans that look like they’re comfortable and manage to work both standing and sitting. Of course, they’re baggy. This is, of course, what I was going for. However, I cannot currently imagine how skinny jeans might be constructed for her. I don’t think I’m committed enough to buy a pair of Apple Bottoms just to deconstruct them to see how they’re made. I’ve received plenty of compliments on these pants, but, I’m not entirely happy with them. I’m sure they could greatly be improved upon – I’m just too worn out to try right now. Until I *do* tweak them just right, I’m not putting them up on Etsy – although the girl power hoodie is up for sale. But, I did share the pattern over on the Handmade Lammily Fashions group page in case anyone wants to try making them.

GE GE GE GE

2 thoughts on “Dolly Got Back: Making Pants for Lammily

  1. I totally hear you on the Lammily pants — for a moment, I wondered if my doll’s shorts were a fluke each time I put Ana in a sitting position!

    I wasn’t sure if you’re up for it but…I purchased a bunch of the Lammily fashions from the official site. Two of them actually have pants. I haven’t tried them on Ana yet, but since she has technically two jeans in her wardrobe….I don’t mind sending one of them to you to analyze and even deconstruct. I’m definitely curious to see what’s the best way to create better pants for the Lammily dolls!

    • I bought the Scotland outfit for the purpose of getting this girl some jeans that fit 🙂 No need for me to tear yours up, I plan to try to with these again when I get some free time this coming week.

Leave a Reply

