Creating a Narrative

“Beylerbayan Apek of Orhanli Beylerbeylik” by Gambargin on DeviantArt

Months before Lammily was completed and shipped out, she had a passport that could be customized by the buyer for each individual doll. The idea here is that while each doll is a Lammily doll, she could have her own, unique name and, by extension, her own personality or story variant. Indeed, so many of the Lammily dolls I come across in the Facebook groups have been given wonderful names and a few have developed personalities that are evident in the outfits the dolls are dressed in and the way they’re posed and talked about — yes, adults still have license to engage in imaginative play. It has taken me some time to find an identity for my doll.

The basic Lammily character story is that she is well traveled. This is a nod to the fact that her initial backing came from contributors all over the world. It’s a narrative that I like and that I think fits especially well with some of the themes of this blog – this is A’Cloth the World after all. The little booklet she comes with talks about some of the different countries she has been in – Canada, France, Australia, Italy, England, the United States – all Western countries. So, I’m imagining some of her travels into other parts of the world – Japan, India, Turkey – and some of the friends she might make and clothes she might wear. I’m trying to imagine where she might be from originally – just because I’m American doesn’t necessarily mean she is. I mean, she might be. But maybe she’s British? Or maybe she’s Spanish? Or Turkish? Or Russian? Or a combination of any of these? Because of her brown hair and tan-ish skin tone, there are a half dozen plausibilities – each of which provides an opportunity to learn about different clothing traditions and some history.

I’m actually kind of enjoying constructing a backstory for my doll. It makes me feel very nostalgic – I used to write short stories and fan fiction frequently when I was younger. I just have to be careful I don’t get so sucked into the details that I forget to sew anything, lol!

As of this evening, I have officially named her and we (yes, my doll and I – don’t judge 😛 ) are on our way to hashing out her story. Her name is Morrígan Çelik. Her mother is Irish and her father is Turkish. She is intelligent and curious, but very headstrong. Her mother would tell her the story of Cuchulain before bed and she would dream of epic battles and facing down snarling dogs with her bare hands. Her father taught her how to play the bağlama as a child and she plays as a way to relieve stress after a long day. (I will now have to figure out how to make a doll sized bağlama, lol.) Morrígan is a huge fangirl – she has posters of David Tennant, Tarkan, Imran Khan, and CM Punk on her wall.

One comment on “Creating a Narrative

  1. […] to name her Sinead – she’s Morrígan’s cousin from her mother’s side (If you didn’t catch Morrígan’s intro narrative, catch it here if you’re intereste…) I haven’t figured out her personality yet, but I really love the […]

Leave a Reply

