Finding Time

56428094
I do have to say that this writing a post every day thing is a lot harder than I thought it would be. While I certainly have plenty more story to write (you guys seem to really like those, at least my readership skyrockets on doll-stories), I won’t be able to get to it for a few days as I need to construct props, build scenery, and sew some new outfits so that I can take proper photos. For starters, I know that I want to show the girls all together at the pizza place where Morrigan is playing her bağlama, which I still need to finish. I will need tables and chairs, I will need little pizzas, I will need to make an outfit for the server, and if I’m really ambitious I would make a whole restaurant diorama with arcade games (or just one very important game: Aero Fighters). But now I am getting anxious trying to figure out when I will have time for all of this.

GE

Bağlama in progress

 

 

“But Lisa”, you say, “these things shouldn’t take long to make. I need to know what happens in the story! Where did Daniela come from? What did Istvan do? What is up with Daniela’s weird nightmare? I NEED ANSWERS!” Well, take that up with everything else that vies for my time:

  • Working 40 hours at my primary job (sometimes I work overtime hours if they need the coverage, which they do right now, so I’m currently working 6 nights a week and have signed up for on-call shifts)
  • Working as many hours as necessary to smoothly operate my second job – Remember that post I wrote? Go buy some books 😉 While I get to set my own hours for this, I still need to average a minimum of 8 hours a week to keep the stacks of books from getting too high and to get Amazon orders shipped out on time.
  • Sleep. Getting 6-8 hours a sleep during each day. And yes, I sleep during the day because I work overnight shifts at my primary job. That’s 42-56 hours a week just recharging the batteries.
  • Other odds and ends like cooking/ eating, maintaining hygiene, trying to go to the gym, and devoting some of my time to maintaining relationships (boyfriend, family, friends).

Let’s do some math. 24 hours in a day x 7 days in a week = 168 hours/ week. Subtracting 48 hours from the primary job = 120. Subtracting a minimum of 8 hours from the second job = 112. Let’s say I get a full day’s rest. Subtracting 56 hours of sleep for the week = 56 hours left. Divide that by 7 days a week and that gives me roughly 8 hours a day in which to accomplish everything else.  AND my application for grad school is due in 12 days. AND I’m wanting to try breaking into Youtube. (I know, I’m out of my mind.)

As I signed onto yahoo to check my e-mail tonight (using my break at work to write this and publish later), I saw this article talking about George R.R. Martin still not yet having the next Game of Thrones book done, missing his own deadline. I don’t know what else the guy has going on in his life, but I can’t help but feel sympathy pains. That story is pretty much one of those things I dread. Imagine the pressure to deliver and embarrassment.

TL;DR – I need more hours in the day and I’ll do my best to get Part 3 to you as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

